Reviews Stories January 21

As the headphone jack begins to disappear from more and more portable devices, Bluetooth, and more specifically, ANC headphones have become super popular. Right out of left field, Microsoft announced its first-generation Surface Headphones earlier this year which feature ANC, Bluetooth, and charging over USB-C.

So, how do they stack up against the competition?

expand full story

Reviews Stories January 17

Ever since Apple hit the jackpot with AirPods, the competition has been ramping up from other audio brands. CES 2019 revealed even more truly wireless earbuds on the way. That’s in addition to an already robust marketplace from well-known names in the industry along with a host of low-cost options. One new player in this space is Anker, who recently expanded its Soundcore lineup with the new Liberty Air True-Wireless Earphones. With AirPod-style for nearly 50% less, how does Anker’s latest audio release compare to the clubhouse leader? A quick look and comparison below.

expand full story

Reviews Stories December 7, 2018

Earlier this year, LEGO announced that it would be bringing back a fan-favorite set after nearly a decade of retirement. To close out the year, LEGO has brought back the Vestas Wind Turbine, an 800-piece packing motorized features and more. As one of the tallest sets ever released, we had to get our hands on it. So head below to take an in-depth look at what LEGO’s most recent set has to offer.

expand full story

Reviews Stories November 19, 2018

There are a ton of great options out there for an excellent laptop nowadays, and plenty of them will be on sale this week for Black Friday. Over the past several months I’ve been using Huawei’s Matebook X Pro as my primary laptop. Here are a few reasons why it’s one of the best laptops you can buy for Black Friday.

expand full story

Reviews Stories November 15, 2018

2018 has seen some pretty crazy advances in the world of tech. Somewhere on that list, and certainly nowhere near the top, we have Amazon’s latest connected gadget: an Alexa-enabled microwave. Having just been released, we brought the AmazonBasics Microwave into our kitchen and put it to the test. Head below to see if Amazon’s new kitchen appliance is made with the ingredients for success.

expand full story

Reviews Stories November 13, 2018

Before I get into my Kindle Paperwhite Review, I want to give you some backstory on where my life has been headed over the past few weeks. I’ve been pondering the role technology plays in our lives. It all started when my wife and I spent a weekend away for our anniversary, and I purposely didn’t keep my phone with me for an entire day. I knew she had her cell phone in case of an emergency with our children, so I just left it at the hotel. One of the main reasons I didn’t want it with me is because it was the day of the Georgia vs. LSU college football game, and I didn’t want to know the score until it was over. For the first time in many years, I went 12+ hours without picking up a cell phone to check e-mail, respond to a text message, or visit a website.  expand full story

Reviews Stories November 6, 2018

Last month the Marshall Wooburn II Bluetooth Speaker hit the market as a high-end model with iconic styling and a hefty price tag. The $499 speaker promised booming sound in a package that any audio enthusiast is sure to love. But with an MSRP that’s sure to turn some shoppers away, is it worth the extra cash when Sonos, HomePod and others are available for less?

expand full story

Reviews Stories October 30, 2018

Coding, to those unfamiliar, can often seem like magic. Rather than have this mystery be a bad thing for newcomers to the world of programming, Kano’s latest release looks to use this mysticism to inspire. The Kano Harry Potter Coding Kit was showcased earlier this year, and now we’re finally getting our hands on it.

By pairing a buildable magic wand with an in-depth and intuitive companion app, Kano’s Harry Potter Coding Kit teaches first-time coders the fundamentals they need by reciting spells and more. Head below to get an in-depth look at the company’s latest, most-entertaining release yet.

expand full story

Reviews Stories October 26, 2018

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is probably one of the most anticipated games of 2018. Launching two weeks ago, this game has quickly become one of my favorite CoD games ever, possibly my all-time favorite. In our full Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 review, we’ll take a look at all game modes and gameplay.

From a revamped multiplayer to a brand-new Zombies storyline and the new Blackout game mode, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 will be on most gamers wishlists this holiday season. expand full story

Reviews Stories October 19, 2018

Earlier this year, LEGO and Blizzard announced that the two companies would be joining forces to release a line of brick-built Overwatch sets. Since then, fans of both LEGO and the hit multiplayer game have been eagerly awaiting the release of these sets. Last week we got a first look at what the collaboration has in store, with the release of the Omnic Bastion 75987 set.

We’ve finally gotten our hands on the new release, so head below for an in-depth look at how the first LEGO Overwatch set stacks up.

expand full story

Reviews Stories October 16, 2018

TiVo is a brand name that is well known when it comes to recording TV shows. It was one of the original digital video recorders (along with ReplayTV). I purchased the Series 2 TiVo in 2003, and I used it for four years before retiring it for a Comcast branded DVR when I got my first HDTV in 2007. Even after switching to a non-TiVo DVR, I missed the familiar interface. Even to this day, I’ve used countless DVR solutions from various companies, and nothing touches the simplicity of the TiVo. Will the TiVo Bolt OTA for Antenna live up to the hype?

expand full story

Reviews Stories October 12, 2018

This year has been filled with some pretty eye-catching LEGO kits. Ideas assembled a mighty Voltron and we were able to ride in style with a souped-up Aston Martin. But now that the fall lineup of LEGO releases is here, we’re getting a look at some more must-haves. While the new Cloud City set has taken the spotlight, another new release debuted just last week. Stacking up to over 800 pieces, the new Star Wars LEGO Porg 75230 may just be the cutest kit yet. Head below for our full hands-on review. 

expand full story

Reviews Stories October 11, 2018

After admitting that Bluetooth was an okay standard for wireless audio, I’ve been on the hunt for a set of wireless headphones that work well, sound great, and are comfortable and versatile. Enter the Sony WH-1000XM3.

I’ve tried everything from the Bose QC35 II’s, Bang and Olufsen H9i, Bowers & Wilkins PX, and many more. Each of these claim to feature noice cancellation, which is something a lot of consumers are looking for when buying headphones. Most recently, Sony announced the third iteration in its WH-1000X series, the 1000XM3s (Mark III’s), and these are really close to being the headphones I’ve been searching for.

Head below to learn why.

expand full story

Reviews Stories September 25, 2018

Today, Jaybird has announced the new Tarah Wireless Sport Headphones. Coming in at $100, this is one of the brand’s more affordable releases in recent memory. Tarah arrives on the scene today with 6-hours of battery life and a simplified design that stays true to Jaybird style.

Over the last week I’ve been able to give Jaybird’s latest release a good run through. Head below for a few quick thoughts and additional details.

expand full story

Reviews Stories September 20, 2018

Throw out everything you thought you knew about cardboard, Nintendo’s back with yet another of its Labo cardboard construction kits. This time putting you right in the driver’s seat of a car, plane and submarine, Nintendo has more than a few tricks up its sleeve for the new Vehicle Kit.

We got out hands on the company’s latest and after putting it to the test, it’s hard to not be thoroughly impressed. Nintendo has seriously upped its game and made its cardboard creations even more enticing. Head below to get an in-depth look at everything the Labo Vehicle Kit has to offer.

expand full story

Reviews Stories September 18, 2018

Finding the perfect bag to take on a trip has never been an easy task for me. I want to carry my camera gear, clothes, toiletries, and my laptop too; along with all of the necessary cables and cords I’ll need for that trip. I’ve used several bags over the past few years, from the TYLT Energi to Peak Design’s Everyday Backpack 30L, Messenger Bag 15, and even the WaterField’s Air Porter.

Each serves a purpose unique to itself: the Messenger Bag 15 is great for carrying one camera body and a few lenses along with a laptop, the Everyday Backpack 30L is an awesome bag to carry tons of stuff, though it’s not super comfy. The Air Porter is an awesome laptop bag with plenty of room to carry other tech items, like my Switch. But, in the past, I’ve always had to carry multiple bags when going on a weekend vacation or convention. That all changed with the Peak Design Travel Backpack.

expand full story

Reviews Stories September 12, 2018

sEach fall we’re blessed with annual releases from some of the most popular video game series out there. In recent memory, no other franchise has enjoyed such a cult following like NBA 2K. Each year the series gets a fine tuning, along with updated rosters and varies tweaks that take the game to a new level.

NBA 2K19 hit the scene on Friday with more hype than I can recall in the last few years. Right out of the box it’s clear that 2K is set to shine again with buttery smooth gameplay and an exceptionally deep Career Mode that takes you on a journey from no-name to star. That’s not to say this year’s release isn’t without any issue as microtransactions continue to be a bother throughout. Despite that, NBA 2K19 continues to reign supreme as the best basketball simulation on the market today.

expand full story

Reviews Stories September 10, 2018

Today it’s all about IK Multimedia’s latest analog synth hardware. IK’s lineup of music production and live sound gear is largely considered to be for those with a budget in mind or as amazing beginner rigs for aspiring producers. The new UNO synth is designed to be just that with an extremely competitive price tag and wide platform compatibility with your existing recording environment. After having the chance to put the portable analog synthesizer to the test over the last couple weeks in some electronic-based music productions and more, it’s time to see what the new IK Multimedia UNO Synth is packing. expand full story

Powered by WordPress.com VIP